Young Adults Book Recommendations



Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom

Genre: Fantasy, Dystopian

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Summary: The Six of Crows duology follows six criminals pulling a heist. Set in the same universe as Bardugo’s previous trilogy, Shadow and Bone, the misfits travel all across the world, forming friendships along the way. Filled with action and romance, this novel is perfect for anyone who loves getting their heart broken and crying alone in their bedroom.

Rating: 4/5

The best part of this book is the character development. Many of the characters have tragic backstories, and the novel highlights the struggles that they go through recovering from them. Although the world building was a bit hard to get through, the duology shattered my heart into a million pieces. Overall, it was a terrific series, and I recommend this duology to anyone who loves hurt/comfort and found family tropes.




The Inheritance Games/The Hawthorne Legacy

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Summary: Avery Grambs is an average high school student whose only goal is to graduate high school, get a good scholarship, and get out. But one day, everything changed. Tobias Hawthorne, a millionaire that Avery never knew, leaves his entire inheritance to her. In order to receive her inheritance, she has to move into his mansion, which is filled with a plethora of puzzles and secret passageways, for an entire year. Unfortunately, that also means she has to live with the family that Tobias Hawthorne disinherited.

Rating: 4.5/5

These two books are absolutely captivating, filled with twists and turns around every corner. Perfect for fans of Knives Out, these two novels follow Avery on her dangerous journey of trying to discover why she was given Tobias Hawthorne’s inheritance and trying to stay alive.




The Lunar Chronicles

Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction

Author: Marissa Meyers

Summary: These four fractured fairy tales follow Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter on their journey to stop the evil queen of Luna. While doing that, they also have to battle the ongoing pandemic that is taking their world by storm. There are also prequels, short stories and graphic novels set in the same universe.

Rating: 5/5

These books are so good that I read them all in under a week. Whenever the books begin to slow, the author throws a curveball that completely shakes up the story. There is plenty of drama and action, as well as a sprinkling of romance and comedy that provides a nice balance. Marissa Meyers has another book series called Renegades that I highly recommend, as well as a romantic comedy novel called Instant Karma; some other books by the author include Heartless and Gilded.



Tweet Cute

Genre: Romance, Comedy

Author: Emma Lord

Summary: In a modern twist on the romantic comedy, You’ve Got Mail, Pepper and Jack go to the same school, where they occasionally rub shoulders both in class and on their sports teams. Pepper’s family are the founders of a chain restaurant, while Jack’s are the owners of a small yet well-loved mom-and-pop sandwich shop. However, when Pepper’s family is accused of stealing Jack’s grandma’s famous grilled cheese recipe, the two companies begin a feud over social media. Unbeknownst to them, Pepper and Jack are falling for each other on an anonymous chatting app that Jack created.

Rating: 5/5

Undoubtedly one of my favorite books of all time, I have read this book more times than I can count. This book is so lighthearted and perfect for when you want a fun read. Another book by this author that I highly recommend is You Have a Match.





The Grimrose Girls

Genre: Fiction, mystery

Author: Laura Pohl

Summary: After their best friend, Ari, has a mysterious death, Ella, Yuki, and Rory are the centers of attention- until Nani comes. When Nani moves into Yuki and Rory’s dorm, she finds a mysterious book that Ari left behind, one that has ominous notes in it. This sends the four on a hunt to discover the hidden meaning behind it, and why their friend died.

Rating: 5/5

I haven’t heard many people talk about this book, but it is definitely another favorite of mine. With a dark twist on fairy tales, tied to a mystery, this book is definitely a good read for anyone who loves suspense.



You Might Also Like: